“Let them think what they liked, but I didn’t mean to drown myself. I meant to swim till I sank – but that’s not the same thing.”

Things got simpler. Things got more complicated. I am still trying to decide which of the above is true (or at least truer). Probably the latter – it usually just gets more and more difficult. Fuck.

OK – so there is me – from a bit over a month ago, playing hide and sink with my own life and definitely not winning in this game. To be even more precise – there am I thinking a lot about not being (neither me nor anyone else for that matter). There am I trying to erase all of my footsteps, trying to fade away, trying to be forgotten. And most of all, there am I trying very badly not to try.

Over a month ago I have probably resembled more of the bottle filled with gasoline than a human being. And I did explode – though – too soon, with no warning or plan. My body started shutting down and nearly suffocated me. I probably should have taken it as some sort of lesson. I guess this is what everyone was expecting of me. I haven’t – but how can you say that out loud? Yes, you can’t.

So there is me now, still sinking but better in hiding.

One thought on ““Let them think what they liked, but I didn’t mean to drown myself. I meant to swim till I sank – but that’s not the same thing.”

Leave a Reply

